top of page


Jason Laing

The Sawmill


Isle of Lewis


+447990 553309

Your Message has been sent to both the Clerk to the Board and the Boards Office Administrator. One of them will be in touch shortly.

District Salmon Fishery Boards (DSFB's) have their origin in the salmon fisheries acts and legislation introduced in the mid 1800's (1862 & 1868). Their constitution was changed in 1968 with the passing of the 1986 Salmon Act (now consolidated into the Salmon and Freshwater Fisheries (Consolidation) (Scotland) Act 2003).

The former District Salmon Fisheries Board of Loch Roag, East Lewis, West Lewis, Harris, North Uist and South Uist were amalgamated in 2001 to form the Western Isles District Salmon Fisheries Board (WIDSFB). WIDSFB is a statutory body responsible for the protection and enhancement of salmon and sea trout fisheries in the Western Isles District (the Isle of Lewis, Isle of Harris, Isle of North Uist, Isle of South Uist, Isle of Benbecula and Barra) and is one of 41 District Salmon Fishery Boards in Scotland.

The Board works closely with the Outer Hebrides Fisheries Trust whilst ensuring they retain separate identities. The Board has statutory powers which govern things such as; appointing bailiffs or the permission to strip and stock. The Trust gathers survey data and information to help inform these decision making processed. While the Boards powers are limited to Salmon and Sea Trout, the Trust's remit covers all species of freshwater fish and the habitats which support them.

bottom of page